Mood: Thankful and Delighted



I have been a writer since I was in primary school and then been a roleplayer in the online worlds since 2007, it has been both my creative space and my escape when reality is too hard. Over the years, friends and acquaintances have complimented my work and asked have I considered being a writer as a career. I did dwell on it in Yr 11 while still in high school when my best friend and I were doing random collaborations of stories together.

Unfortunately getting to be the next Jane Austen or JK Rowling is very hard for any wannabe writer so I decided to go logically, moving through jobs and career paths until hotels of where I am today. It wasn’t until yesterday while on front desk, my Assistant manager and mentor into being a team leader got a brief read of my Warcraft stories on this blog and it had left her stuttering and almost speechless!

I never thought I would have someone who enjoyed my story and someone who was outside the fantasy world, pixel lands and fellow roleplayers. Someone who is more in reality and never heard of World of Warcraft. She had stated after reading the first two paragraphs that I was in the wrong industry and should consider making my writing into a serious career. It had always been a dream career but only the lucky ones can get successful with the publishers.

Still it left a warm feeling in my chest especially on such a cold day and left me living in that moment and realising that despite my short stories that I post in this blog, I still have that creative talent inside of me πŸ˜€

 

– Lu

Leave a Reply

